Ash is crafty

Crafty moments of a 29 year old wife and mother who is fortunate enough to work in a craft store!

Mason Jar Soap Dispenser

Leave a comment

Mason Jar Soap Dispenser

I don’t really get it. Mason Jars are SO HOT right now. It’s ridiculous. I grew up using spare mason jars for this, that and the other thing. Drinking out of, bug jars, mixing sauces, etc. It’s like the rest of the country has finally figured out what southerners have known all along. Mason jars come in handy!
Now, everyone who knows me knows that I am not exactly trend forward, but I had a mason jar with a lid that was starting to corrode slightly so I didn’t want to use it for food anymore (update: this was a bad idea, even after painting the rust kept getting worse over a few months) and a soap dispenser that was leaving rust rings on my counter. I figured I would give this thing a shot. The best way to make this a “green” project like it is intended to be would be to use a jar from the kitchen that you aren’t using for anything else.
Supplies:
1 – 16 oz mason jar with lid and band
1 – 16 oz bottle of hand soap with pump (If you can’t find one that is 16 oz, don’t worry, your jar just won’t be as full up as mine. As long as it has a pump top, you’re good to go.)
1 – rotary tool/dremel or a nail, hammer, and a file
Tube of E6000 adhesive
White vinegar
Paint to match pump (optional)

First, make sure there isn’t any food residue on the inside of your jar. Then, if you plan to paint your jar lid and your jar lid is fairly new and feels like it has a rust proof coating on it, soak it in plain white vinegar for several minutes so that the coating gets “etched” enough for the paint to stick later. Dry the lid and make a hole in the lid. Use either your rotary tool/dremel to cut a hole very slightly smaller than the biggest point on the lower part of the soap pump, the part that is actually going to go through the lid. I stop making the hole any bigger when I can ALMOST push it through, then I sort of forced it, to be sure I had a tight seal. If using the nail and file method, use a heavy nail to make a series of holes in a circle on your lid, the outer edges of the holes should line up with how big you want your hole to be. After you have small holes punched, take a pair of pliers and pull/break out the center of the hole. File down points with file. Once your hole is big enough, take your lid and ring and paint it (if you wanted to) I suggest using a primer so that the paint will stick better. Once the paint is dry, push your soap pump through straw first and put a bead of E6000 around the bottom of the lid where it joins the soap pump to ensure that it does not leak later. At this point, check to see that you can put the pump with the lid on the jar and close the lid. If the straw for the pump is too long trim it with scissors or a sharp craft knife. Let E6000 dry thoroughly. Pour your soap into the jar and screw on the lid.
There you go, a rust proof soap dispenser and you’ll always see when you’re running low on soap!


Author: ashiscrafty

This is just a little blog I have started to show off some of the crafty things I've done. Some of my older crafts will have text tutorials only as I was not thinking of taking pictures at every step of the craft. Once I have a chance to do more crafts I will have tutorials that have step by step pictures. I am more into seasonal decor crafting and cake decorating than anything, but once in a while I get inspiration for a hand made gift that is a little different. *I do not work for, shop at, or support Hobby Lobby*

Leave a Reply

