Ash is crafty

Crafty moments of a 29 year old wife and mother who is fortunate enough to work in a craft store!

Name Hanger

Leave a comment

Name Hanger

I made one of these for each of my nieces for their second birthday. I’m all for having something personalized for kid’s rooms. I also love spoiling my girls with handmade gifts. I got all supplies from Michaels crafts.

Supplies:
4×4 wooden plaques – enough for each letter of the name
Wooden letters to spell out the name
2 to 3 sheets of scrapbook paper
Acrylic paint to coordinate with scrapbook paper
2 to 3 yards of ribbon to coordinate with scrapbook paper
Mod Podge or Elmer’s glue-all
E6000, hot glue gun, or staple gun
D-ring for hanging
Craft knife or scissors
Sand paper – optional
Wood filler – optional

The small wooden plaques from Michaels come unfinished and are sometimes a bit rough around the edges. Fill and/or sand to smooth out the sides and edges. I skipped that step, I didn’t think two year olds would mind. I then painted the edges one color and contour of the plaques and the wooden letters another color with the acrylic paint. I went with one color for each “feature”, but feel free to mix it up a bit and alternate colors. While you are waiting on the paint to dry, cut squares of the scrap book paper large enough to cover the top surface of the wooden plaque. Once the paint is dry glue the scrapbook paper to the top of the wooden plaque using the Mod Podge or Elmer’s glue-all. I cannot cut a straight line to save my life, so at this point I took a craft knife and using the edge of the top surface of the plaque as a guide, I trimmed any over hanging paper and then touched up the paint anywhere I trimmed off a little more than paper. Once the glue has had a chance to dry it may be a good idea to put a layer of Mod Podge or Elmer’s over the scrap book paper to seal it, you know how little fingers stay messy. At this point you can attatch the wooden plaques to the ribbon using either the E6000 or the hot glue gun. A heavy duty staple gun could possibly even work since you are attaching the ribbon to the back where it won’t be seen. I spaced the plaques about an inch to two inches apart between them. My method was to leave several extra inches above the first plaque, glue it down, measure where the next plaque should go, glue it down, and so on and so forth. Take the d-ring and put it on the extra several inches of ribbon at the top and fold the ribbon over to the back and glue it down. If you used E6000 you may want to let it dry overnight before handling too much more, but if you used hot glue you can move to the next step. Lay the wooden letters down on the plaques as a dry run and double check your spelling. It would be very un-cool to have everything glued down only to discover that you spelled the name wrong. Once you are confident that everything is correct, glue the letters down with either the Mod Podge, the Elmer’s glue-all, or the E6000. To get a symmetrical notch in the ribbon below the bottom letter, fold in half and cut at an angle. If you are worried about it unraveling later, put a tiny schmere of E6000 along the cut edge of the ribbon. Let dry over night.

(I’m preparing to make one of these for my nephew so hopefully I can update this with step-by-step pictures.)


Author: ashiscrafty

This is just a little blog I have started to show off some of the crafty things I've done. Some of my older crafts will have text tutorials only as I was not thinking of taking pictures at every step of the craft. Once I have a chance to do more crafts I will have tutorials that have step by step pictures. I am more into seasonal decor crafting and cake decorating than anything, but once in a while I get inspiration for a hand made gift that is a little different. *I do not work for, shop at, or support Hobby Lobby*

Leave a Reply

