Ash is crafty

Crafty moments of a 29 year old wife and mother who is fortunate enough to work in a craft store!

Upcycled cake stand and dessert tower

Leave a comment

Upcycled cake stand and dessert tower Upcycled cake stand and dessert tower made from a tableware set that was missing a few pieces.
My great Aunt passed away a while back and some of her belongings have been sitting around in an un-enclosed carport for a while. I noticed her old dishes going unused and since the set was incomplete I didn’t want to take it to Goodwill. As I may have stated before, I am a bit of a Pinterest addict. I had seen things on Pinterest involving upcycling tea cups including a cake stand, if memory serves me correctly. I figured it was time to rescue the dishes instead of letting them “rot away”.


Supplies:
E6000 or any adhesive formulated for porcelain.
Tableware (plates,cups, etc)As you will be permanently adhereing these together be careful not to use anything that has great monetary/collector value (such as vintage Fiesta Ware and the like).

The way I found them. As you can see, they were in a pretty sad state when I found them. I hosed them off as best I could and then brought them inside for a thorough washing.
Thorough washing. Thorough washing 🙂 Getting them good and clean is VERY important because you do not want any dust or grit in the way that may keep your adhesive from adhering correctly. Even if it is a set that has been inside, I would still give it a quick wash to get any dust off of it.
Drying Dry your pieces COMPLETELY. With the exception of Gorilla Glue, which is water activated, most adhesives will not work on wet surfaces.
Supplies Gather your supplies. In this case it would be any dishes you were going to use and your adhesive. I used three full sized plates, four tea cups, one saucer, and one bowl. I like E6000 as a general all-purpose craft adhesive. It sticks to about anything and you have a little bit of working time if you have to make any adjustments. If you don’t have E6000, or you prefer a cyanocrylate (superglue) type adhesive, you can always use any adhesive that will work on porcelain or glass.
E6000 on bottom of a cup The first step is to put E6000 on the bottom of one cup.
null At this point, turn the cup over and center it on the bottom of your first plate or, in this case, a saucer.
Cup centered on plate. This shot was taken at a bad angle, but trust me, it’s centered.
Cake stand!For the cake stand you are now done! I would let it dry for 24 to 48 hours before trying to use it just to be sure it doesn’t shift.
For the dessert stand, repeat the first two steps. Glue the bottoms of the cups to the bottoms of the plates, for as many tiers as you want your stand.
E6000 inside rim of cup To stick your tiers together you will need to put a thick bead of adhesive just inside the rim of one of your cups.
Stacked Center the cup for the second tier in the middle of the plate for the first tier.
Fin for your final tier, put a bead of adhesive in the rim of the last cup and center it in the middle of the second tier. As I said, this set of dishes was incomplete so I used a saucer instead of a full-sized plate. I also decided against adhering the bowl to the top, I felt that the tower would be more versatile if it could be removed for easier washing and refilling.

I used a set that while incomplete, still matched. If you go on a thrift store hunt and find mis-matched pieces that still looked good together, go for it! It’s all about what makes you happy!


Author: ashiscrafty

This is just a little blog I have started to show off some of the crafty things I've done. Some of my older crafts will have text tutorials only as I was not thinking of taking pictures at every step of the craft. Once I have a chance to do more crafts I will have tutorials that have step by step pictures. I am more into seasonal decor crafting and cake decorating than anything, but once in a while I get inspiration for a hand made gift that is a little different. *I do not work for, shop at, or support Hobby Lobby*

Leave a Reply

