Ash is crafty

Crafty moments of a 29 year old wife and mother who is fortunate enough to work in a craft store!

Hair Bow Holder

Leave a comment

Hair Bow Holder
As promised, here is the second post for November! I was blessed with a bouncing baby boy, but Auntie still understands that when little girls and their hair are involved, there is never a hair band, clip, or scrunchie when you need one. I decided that this Christmas my girlies needed someplace that their mommies could find hair stuff when needed.

For the moment I only have a text tutorial, but once I get the pictures uploaded from my camera I will have step by step pictures.
I admit, I wasn’t able to sit and do all of the steps at once, so I can’t really give a great start to finish time frame.

Supplies:
•Wooden plaque or shape
•Wooden letters
•Wooden peg
•Scrapbook paper
•Paint
•Mod Podge and/or craft adhesive
•Ribbon
•Binder ring (the type used to organize embroidery floss bobbins)
•D-ring
•Small screw

Step 1

Paint your wooden shape, letters, and your peg. Feel free to put two or three coats to get the coverage you like. I went with different colors for my letters and my base to give the project more depth. Alternately, if you want to cover the whole front of the shape with scrapbook paper, skip painting it.

Step 2

Decide what size you want your scrapbook paper piece to be and cut it out. OR if you want, just paint a neat design on your wooden shape.

Step 3

Glue your scrapbook paper to your wooden shape. Smooth down so that there are no bubbles.

Step 4

Dry fit then glue your letters down. Pay close attention to your scrapbook paper if it has a pattern with a top. Otherwise you may end up with butterflies flying sideways.

Step 5

Once the scrap book paper and letters are good and dry, flip the shape over and glue two 8-10 inch pieces of ribbon to two sides of your wooden shape, again making sure you have everything right side up. At the bottom, in the middle of your wooden shape, glue down one end of a 4 inch piece of ribbon. Slip a binder ring on to the ribbon and glue down the free end. Repeat with another piece of ribbon and the d-ring at the top. I didn’t want the d-ring to show so I placed it far enough down so that it is hidden when it hangs up. Let everything dry.

Step 5

If you have a thin wooden shape like me, cut off the base of the wooden peg so it sits flat against the wooden shape, if you have a thicker plaque, drill a hole to fit the peg’s base. You may want to drill a small pilot hole in the base of your peg before fitting. Put a small dab of adhesive on the base of the peg. Screw in a small screw from the back to be sure it is stable. You may do best holding the peg with pliers wrapped in tape while you screw the screw in.

Now, just clip hair clips to the ribbon, hang a head band on the peg, and load the binder clip with hair bands and you’re good to go.


Author: ashiscrafty

This is just a little blog I have started to show off some of the crafty things I've done. Some of my older crafts will have text tutorials only as I was not thinking of taking pictures at every step of the craft. Once I have a chance to do more crafts I will have tutorials that have step by step pictures. I am more into seasonal decor crafting and cake decorating than anything, but once in a while I get inspiration for a hand made gift that is a little different. *I do not work for, shop at, or support Hobby Lobby*

Leave a Reply

