Ash is crafty

Crafty moments of a 29 year old wife and mother who is fortunate enough to work in a craft store!

Chocolate Peppermint Heart Pops

Leave a comment

Chocolate Peppermint Heart Pops

‘Tis the season! Happy Yule! Happy Holidays! Merry Christmas! Whatever you celebrate, where ever you are I hope this time of year finds you exactly where you want to be and with whom you want to spend it!
I saw this a few months ago, and now is the perfect time to try them! These pops can also be made with white chocolate and pink and white sprinkles for Valentine’s Day.
I love little hand made add-ons to gifts, and I like doing new things in the kitchen. Did I mention that I am also a chocoholic? These are really pretty simple to make once you get the hang of them.

Supplies
Supplies:
•Mini candy canes (use fresh ones, my first attempt I used ones from a discount retailer that may have been from last year. While still edible, they did NOT soften up the way I needed them to.)
•Lollipop sticks
•Chocolate Chips (can be milk, white, or dark)
•Sprinkles (optional)
•Cookie sheets
•Parchment paper

First, pre-heat the oven to 200 degrees fahrenheit (the directions I read said 300, but that was too hot for my oven. Do a test run of one or two pops to determine what setting works best with your oven.)

Laid out
Line your cookie sheets with parchment paper. Lay out the mini candy canes in rough heart shapes with a lollipop stick between them. Bake them in the oven, three minutes at 300 or four minutes at 200.

Melted
For the love of perfectly shaped pops DO NOT forget about them, they will melt and flatten out. I won’t consider these a total loss, I’ll just give them to the small people who care more about the candy than the looks.

Pinch
While the candy is still hot and pliable pinch the bottoms together over the stick and pinch the middle together too. I found that holding the top humps of the heart while I punched the bottoms made a rounder heart shape. If the candy cools before you get your pops shaped, you can return them to the oven for a minute or two more.

Choco bag
Once the candy has cooled put your chocolate into a freezer bag and microwave it at 15-20 second intervals, kneading the bag between cycles, until it is melted through.

Filling
Snip about 1/4 inch from one corner of the bag and squeeze chocolate into the middle of the pops. (I told you the melty ones weren’t a total loss)

Sprinkles
Before the chocolate has a chance to harden put the sprinkles on top! I usually pop everything into the fridge until it firms up.

Gift
Then package any way you would like. Poke them into foam for a bouquet, or like me, put a treat wrapper over top and add them to mug cake mix for a cute accent.


Author: ashiscrafty

This is just a little blog I have started to show off some of the crafty things I've done. Some of my older crafts will have text tutorials only as I was not thinking of taking pictures at every step of the craft. Once I have a chance to do more crafts I will have tutorials that have step by step pictures. I am more into seasonal decor crafting and cake decorating than anything, but once in a while I get inspiration for a hand made gift that is a little different. *I do not work for, shop at, or support Hobby Lobby*

Leave a Reply

