Ash is crafty

Crafty moments of a 29 year old wife and mother who is fortunate enough to work in a craft store!

Red Velvet Cake

Leave a comment

Two my two readers, I must apologize! I am deeply sorry that I missed last month. January was just a crazy month around here. I will do my best to have a make up post this month.
For this month’s post I took on something that may sound ambitious at first, but in reality it is as simple as following any other recipe.Rich red crumb

My mother-in-law’s birthday is coming up soon and my husband mentioned that she likes red velvet cake and asked if I could do one for her birthday. Some time last year my uncle was telling my mom about how one of our ancestors had a red velvet cake recipe that involved coffee to give the cocoa a deeper flavor (this is a scientifically proven fact!). My mother mentioned that she had never tasted a red velvet cake like what our ancestor had made. After unsucessfully trying to get the recipe from my uncle I can see why the flavor my mom remembered was so unique, I had to search for two hours to find a recipe that involved coffee. I have to give great props to Monique at Divas Can Cook (http://divascancook.com/the-best-red-velvet-cake-recipe-easy-homemade-moist-with-southern-flair/). That is the blog where I finally found what I was looking for. I was so excited that I made sure that I had everything that I would need on the list for today’s grocery run. After doing some Valentine’s Day shopping and getting groceries I started on this cake almost as soon as I got home. I didn’t put my usual fancy flair on the cake as I was testing it out for next week, but it tastes just the same. This is the first time I really followed an exact recipe for a cake, I’m known for doctoring a boxed mix well enough to fool about everyone. I’ve done enough baking to know to mix the dry ingredients and wet ingredients all separately, but I was in such a hurry that I forgot to treat the sugar as a wet ingredient. Other than some caramalization when I used my normal Sandra Lee ‘Semi-homemade’ tip that I usually use (use the dry mix to ‘flour’ your pan instead if plain flour) it still turned out alright.Dusted pan Once I had everything mixed up it was a BEAUTIFUL bright red color.RED The original recipe calls for two round pans, either 8″ or 9″ and bake for 30-45 minutes, depending in your oven. BAKER’S TIP: If you wind up with layers that have a dome shape, your oven is cooking too hot! Either invest in some Wilton Bake Even strips or do what I do, turn the oven down by 15-20 degrees fareinheit and tack a few extra minutes on to the baking time. This is a trick that I have used for several years and my last few cakes have come out with nearly flat tops.

I decided to use the first pan I grabbed which happened to be my 9x9x2 square pan. The only change I had to do was to double the baking time since I had the whole mix in one pan.In hind sight I probably could have baked this a little longer and been fine, but I was worried about the outside getting too done.Oven time The finished product turned out to have a deeper red crumb than the batter would have led me to believe, but I am still happy with the gorgeous deep red color. Crumb. One reminder: please let the cake cool well before trying to flip this cake onto a cooling rack. I got impatient and a big chunk tore out of one side when I tried to get it out of the pan. Once I got the icing slathered on this puppy and let it sit for a few hours, the caramilized crust wasn’t noticeable at all.
If you want a MOIST cake this is the one. If I may say so, you can see just how moist this cake is from the pics! As I said this is a tester cake so I didn’t put any time or effort in to making it pretty, so I just kind of slathered it with your standard cream cheese icing (8oz cream cheese, one stick of butter, one pound of powdered sugar, and one teaspoon of vanilla).

Disclaimer: This is not a recipe of my own invention so I am not going to post it here. I just wanted to share my opinion of the recipe and my method to show that even if you goof once or twice the end product could still turn out alright. If you want to try the kick butt original recipe please visit the source: Divas Can Cook – http://divascancook.com/the-best-red-velvet-cake-recipe-easy-homemade-moist-with-southern-flair/


Author: ashiscrafty

This is just a little blog I have started to show off some of the crafty things I've done. Some of my older crafts will have text tutorials only as I was not thinking of taking pictures at every step of the craft. Once I have a chance to do more crafts I will have tutorials that have step by step pictures. I am more into seasonal decor crafting and cake decorating than anything, but once in a while I get inspiration for a hand made gift that is a little different. *I do not work for, shop at, or support Hobby Lobby*

Leave a Reply

